SocialEngine 4: How To Remove a Plugin

Andrew - SocialEngine

Say you’ve installed multiple plugins but only use one or two regularly. You’ve disabled the rest, and they’re just taking up space in your files and database. If you’d like, you can choose to delete those plugins entirely, which will remove them from your system completely. To do so, follow these steps:

Disable the plugin (if you haven’t already): First, go to the “Manage” > “Packages & Plugins” section in the admin panel and disable the plugin.

Make a backup of your files and database: When making changes to your site that result in updates to your files and/or database, it’s always a good idea to make a backup first, in case something goes wrong. Instructions on backing up your site can be found in this article: http://support.socia…storing-backups

Remove the plugin’s entry from the modules table in the database: Open the Cpanel/Database of your site, open the table “engine4_core_modules”, and delete the row corresponding to the plugin. Or, just run the following query:

<span class="pln">DELETE FROM </span><span class="str">`engine4_core_modules`</span><span class="pln"> WHERE </span><span class="str">`engine4_core_modules`</span><span class="pun">.</span><span class="str">`name`</span> <span class="pun">=</span> <span class="str">'MODULE-NAME'</span><span class="pln"> LIMIT </span><span class="lit">1</span>

Delete the plugin’s files: Open your site via FTP and do the following:

  1. Go to the path /application/languages/LANGUAGE_PACK_DIRECTORY/and delete the language file corresponding to this plugin: MODULE-NAME.csv
  2. Go to the path /application/packages/ and delete the package file corresponding to this plugin.
  3. Go to the path /application/modules/ and delete the ‘MODULE-NAME folder corresponding to this plugin.

Remove all the tables and data related to the plugin from the database: Note: This step requires some mySQL knowledge. It is optional and it will not affect your website if you decide to skip this step.

When you uninstall a plugin, it may leave behind some database rows or tables, leaving you with a cluttered database. You can remove these by opening the/application/modules/MODULE-NAME/settings/mysql file and undoing all the queries written in that file that pertain to the plugin you have uninstalled.

Undoing the queries?

During the installation process, each module executes several SQL queries in the settings/mysql file (such as Create, Insert, etc). If you intend to remove that information from your database, you should identify each query that’s been executed and undo or remove the data that was added as a result. For example, if a Create Table query had been run, you will need to delete the table that was created. Likewise, if there was an Insert query, whichever rows were inserted will need to be removed from the database.

That’s all, you’re done! The plugin is now deleted from your site.

Note: Once you have uninstalled a plugin and/or deleted its files, it is not possible to recover it. If you want to use the plugin again, you can always re-download and reinstall it at any point in the future.

Looking for quality SocialEngine Hosting? Look no further than Arvixe Web Hosting

Tags: , , , , , , , | Posted under SocialEngine | RSS 2.0

Author Spotlight

Andrew Cross

Hi, I'm Andrew. A am a 26, ICT Administrator which offers support to company's around the South Wales Area. I have created a few social sites for myself and other company's. So far 2 out of 3 have been successful using the powerful SocialEngine Script. I continue to try and help the community of SocialEngine by giving Support and Technical Help where possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *