How to Properly Delete Users in Elgg

This is a quick article that will give you a step by step guide on how to properly delete users in Elgg.  Sign into your Elgg site as an administrator and follow these steps:

1) Go to the profile of the undesired user

2) Under his profile icon, there is a menu. Look for Delete User and click on it:

3) Once you click on it, click accept to delete the user:

4) Now, the user has been deleted.

Sometimes when you get a large amount of unwanted users, you might be tempted to delete them through the database. This is not recommended. Doing so will crash your database and your Elgg site at the same time. So, please, if you want to delete large amount of users, do it one by one, as described in this post. If you happen to do it through your database, read this post to fix your database and have access to your elgg site again.

This concludes how to properly delete users in Elgg.

For more info about Elgg hosting solutions please visit Arvixe-Elgg Hosting

Happy Hosting!

Rodolfo Hernandez

Tags: , , , , , , , | Posted under Elgg | RSS 2.0

Author Spotlight

Rodolfo Hernandez

Rodolfo Hernandez

I like photography and reading books. Currently working for Arvixe as Elgg Community Liaison. Elgg Security Expert Web Security Expert CEO of UDP SW Social Web

2 Comments on How to Properly Delete Users in Elgg

  1. John says:

    I am using the 1.5 version and I do not have the menu you’re showing under the profile. How can I delete users?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


4 − = 3

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>