Hide “Friends” feature in elgg

The “Friends” feature allows users to connect with each other and share content in a privately manner. However, there are Elgg networks that don’t need this feature. In this article I will give you a step-by-step guide on how to hide the “friends” feature in Elgg

add friend not removed elgg hosting arvixe

“Add a friend” drop down menu

Getting Started

1. “No Friends” plugin is a tool that allows an elgg Administrator to remove the friends feature. It can be downloaded from here. It is available for elgg 1.9, 1.10 and 1.11

2. Unzip and upload the plugin to the mod folder of your elgg network. If you need assistance with this, read this article.

3. Sign into your elgg network as an Administrator. Open the Admin Dashboard and go to menu “Configure -> Plugins“:

plugins section elgg admin arvixe hosting

4. Look for the “No Friends” plugin and enable it:

activate no friends plugin elgg arvixe webhosting

5. Go to your activity page, and you will no longer see the “Add Friend” option in the profile drop down menu:

friends option removed elgg arvixe linux

6. And that’s it! The “Friends” feature will be removed site-wide.

This concludes Hide “Friends” feature in elgg

Looking for quality Elgg Hosting? Look no further than Arvixe Web Hosting!

Happy Hosting!

Rodolfo Hernandez


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Posted under Elgg | RSS 2.0

Author Spotlight

Rodolfo Hernandez

I like photography and reading books. Currently working for Arvixe as Elgg Community Liaison. Elgg Security Expert Web Security Expert CEO of UDP SW Social Web

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *